Home Page Logo
About the Principal Teachers Office & Support Staff Attendance Health & Wellness School Reports Professional Standards
What Is PBIS? What is Bucket Filling? Learn More About PBIS
Information Enrollment - Matriculación FAQs - Preguntas Frecuentes Resources - Recursos Kinder Resources
PTA Parent Volunteers Resources Cafeteria Payments

3728 W. 154th St.

Lawndale, CA 90260



Office Hours /Horario de la oficina

7:45 a.m. - 4:00 p.m

Office Staff /Personal de la oficina


Lisa Jarvis

Office Manager /Administradora

de la oficina


Mayra Chavez

Community Liaision / Enlace comunitario


Enrique Martinez Avila

School Clerk /Secretario de la escuela

School Hours /Horario de la escuela


8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. (MTWF)
8:30 a.m. to 1:05 p.m. (TH)


Grades/Grados 1-3
8:30am-2:30pm (MTWF)
8:30am-1:05pm (TH)


Grades/Grados 4-5 
8:30am-2:55pm (MTWF)
8:30am-1:10pm (TH)


For absences, dial X5920

Para ausencias, marque la ext. 59205

All absences must be verified.

Todas las ausencias deben

ser verificadas.


Thelma Gonzalez


Thelma Gonzalez, Mark Twain Principal

May newsletter

Boletin de mayo

Wednesday Envelope

Sobre del miercoles

Non-Discrimination Policy

The Board of Trustees is committed to providing equal opportunity for all individuals in education. District programs, activities, and practices shall be free from unlawful discrimination, harassment, intimidation, and bullying against an individual or group based on race, color, ancestry, nationality, national origin, ethnic group identification, age, religion, marital, family, pregnancy, or parental status, physical or mental disability, sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, or genetic information; a perception of one or more of such characteristics; or association with a person or group with one or more of these actual or perceived characteristics.


For more information regarding Non-discrimination, Equity, Sexual Harassment, Bullying and Title IX click here.


Twain Calendar/ Calendario

Twain News



California School District Recognized for High Achievement in Student Success by a National Campaign of Business and Education Leaders


Lawndale, CA May18, 2018 – Lawndale Elementary School District (LESD) announced today that Jane Addams Middle School, Mark Twain Elementary School, and Lucille Smith Elementary School have been named to the 2017 - 2018 Educational Results Partnership Honor Roll for its high achievement and student success. The program, sponsored by the Campaign for Business and Education Excellence (CBEE), is part of a national effort to identify higher-performing schools and districts that are improving student outcomes.


The 2017 - 2018 Honor Roll is developed by Educational Results Partnership (ERP), a nonprofit organization that applies data science to help improve student outcomes and career readiness. ERP maintains the nation’s largest database on student achievement and utilizes this data to identify higher-performing schools and districts. School districts that receive the ERP Honor Roll distinction have demonstrated consistent high levels of student academic achievement, improvement in achievement levels over time, and a reduction in achievement gaps among student populations.  For districts with high schools, the ERP Honor Roll recognition also includes measures of college readiness.


“We are proud that three of our schools have been recognized as ERP Honor Roll Schools by educational and  business leaders in California,” said Dr. Betsy Hamilton, LESD Superintendent. “Our teachers and administrators are committed to reaching higher levels of academic achievement and continuously improving our practices. We are pleased to see our hard work and dedication translating to positive outcomes for all our students.”


“Educational success must be data-informed,” said Greg Jones, ERP and CBEE board chairman. “These Honor Roll schools and districts are improving student achievement and we have the data to prove it. It’s critical that the business community support and promote educational success as today’s students are tomorrow’s workforce.” 

“At ERP we are committed to closing achievement gaps and removing educational obstacles for historically disadvantaged students,” said James Lanich, Ph.D., ERP president and CEO.  “These bright spot schools and districts are implementing programs and practices that are improving educational equity and accelerating student success.  We need to shine a spotlight on their work and encourage others to replicate it.”


In California, the ERP Honor Roll is supported by numerous businesses and organizations, including Automobile Club of Southern California, Macy’s, Wells Fargo, Chevron Corporation and Enterprise Holdings Foundation.


To access the ERP Honor Roll, visit www.edresults.org .



About Educational Results Partnership


Educational Results Partnership (ERP) is a nonprofit organization that applies data science to help improve student outcomes and career readiness throughout our educational system. In partnership with educators and employers, ERP charts the pathways that lead to academic success and living-wage jobs. ERP’s goal is to ensure that more students are equipped to enter the workforce with the skills today’s global economy demands.

About the Campaign for Business and Education Excellence

Supported by an alliance of national business leaders, the Campaign for Business and Education Excellence (CBEE) identifies and recognizes high-performing schools and districts through its sponsorship of the ERP Honor Roll program.





Evelyn Garcia, Social Worker at Rogers Middle Schools, has received the Heart of Social Work Award from the USC
Dworak-Peck School of Social Work. The award recognizes Garcia’s dedication to guiding social work and counseling interns while attaining invaluable hands-on experience as they participate in the district’s Intern Program.


This is the third consecutive year LESD has received a top honor from USC. In 2017, Van Bui, Social Worker at Anderson Elementary School, received the Distinguished Field Instructor Award and is 2016 LESD was the recipient of the Agency of the Year Award for their innovative Intern Program.


In this photo: LESD Student Support Services Team, from left to right: Jorge Arroyo, Director of Student Support Services; and School Social Workers: Sofia Lupian-Hernandez, Jalpa Patel, Martika Tucker, Evelyn Garcia, Kisalyn Michael, Montserrat Gomez, Maria Ruelas and Vanessa Clark.


photo from ceremony


We are proud to share that Ramona Martinez, a member of the LESD Accounting Department, has received recognition from the City of Hawthorne for her dedication, contributions, and volunteer work.  


A huge congratulations to Ms. Martinez!


Photo, from left to right: Mr. Alex Vargas,  Mayor of Hawthorne; Ms. Ramona Martinez, honoree; and Alex Monteiro, Chairman of the Hawthorne Presidents Council. 

Photo from ceremony




Social Media - Medios sociales

Twitter Facebook

LESD News - Noticias

Download our app District Press